Our valued sponsor

Help understanding the sufficient ties test for UK tax residency.

UAETrader454

Apr 14, 2021
Dubai
Visit site
I have left the UK and I am currently a resident of the UAE, I would still like the option to spend some time in the UK each yea to see friends etc but based on my ties I am unsure if I am allowed a maximum of 90 days or 120 days.
For 120 days you need 2 ties or less and for 90 days it is 3 ties or less.
The only definite Tie I have is that I have spent more than 90 days in the UK in one of the two previous tax years, the other Tie that I am unsure about is the accommodation tie.

HMRC states - The individual will have an accommodation tie for a tax year if they have a place to live in the UK and:
  • It is available to them for a continuous period of 91 days or more during that tax year, and
    • they spend 1 or more nights there during that year, or
    • if it is the home of a close relative, they spend 16 or more nights there during the year
This confuses me, I own a property but it is rented out so that area is ok but am I allowed to stay with friends? If a friend lets me stay in his spare bedroom for the whole stay of 90 days does this class as an accommodation tie?
What about if I stay with a friend for 50 days but also stay in an Air bnb / hotel for 50 days?
Are hotels allowed?
IF you are allowed to stay 120 days due to having 1 Tie then doesn't staying in the same place for 91 of those days cause you to have a second Tie which invalidates your ability to stay 120 days? what is the legal way to handle this?
I am not trying to do anything illegal but I am just trying to understand what I am legally allowed to do whilst remaining a non tax resident.
Thank you in advance for your help

Last edited:
Reactions: JohnLocke
Not a legal advice, so seek a professional.