Our valued sponsor

Offshore corporation retirement plan for UK resident

Dear All,

As per the title I am a UK resident currently working as a consultant through my limited company. As it is typically done for the limited company contractors here I draw:

• small salary before the tax kicks in (up to £12.5k/year)
  • pay to a private pension from the gross revenue before any taxes are due (up to £40k/year) – this is very tax efficient way of savings, the drawback is that you can’t access this cash until you are 55 (soon it will be 57) but it works for me. When retired the money drawn will be taxed at the normal rate at that time.
  • everything above that is taxed with corporation tax currently @19%.
  • From the remaining pot of money I pay myself dividends (first 2k @ 0% tax, next [email protected]%, and anything above @32.5%) for obvious reasons I try to avoid/minimise drawing dividends the 32.5%.
  • What I don’t take as dividends stays on the company account as cash or is invested and creates my second pension/saving pot which I can draw on if/when I want (subject to tax)
I think this set up works okay and provided I don’t get much into the higher divided rate the taxes are fair and reasonable but just thinking how this could be optimised in context of my future plans .

Just to mention I plan to retire or semi-retire when my children will go to universities in next 8 – 10 years - I will be about 55 at that time. When retired my wife and I plan to move somewhere to the Mediterranean coast to live there permanently - preferably in one of the EU country as we have EU passports.

Provided I have multiple clients and for each client I have multiple contracts I think it would be perfectly doable for me to:

• Set up a second offshore company somewhere in the zero/low tax jurisdiction
  • Split my work and