Our valued sponsor

Offshore solution to my problems. Please help...

DaveSpace

Dec 17, 2017
Visit site
I am an Indian citizen who for the last two years had a agreement with a FOREX trader in Australia. The agreement allowed me to work for his corporation as a adviser and trade currencies bypassing restrictive rules set up by the Indian Government regarding retail FOREX trading. This partnership is coming to an end now. I am also a freelancer and over the last two years I have done well in both of these jobs.

I need a solution to the rules set up by the Indian Government. I need to circumvent them.

The following are the rules made by the Tax Department of India

POEM - Place of Effective Management
For a company to be non resident in India and therefore be free to do whatever it wants, it must fulfill the following POEM provisions.

POEM Provisions: Applicability
Deferral or no deferral, these are the CBDT criteria that foreign companies now have to contend with.

Quantitatively, companies with turnover of Rs 50 crore/7.8 million USD or less in a financial year will be exempt from the POEM provisions. Qualitatively, companies with active business outside India will be exempt from these provisions. The CBDT has spelled out the criteria for the active business test:

Passive income should not be more than 50 percent of total income, and
Less than 50 percent of total assets should be situated in India, and
Less than 50 percent of total employees should be situated in India, and
Payroll expenses on such employees should be less than 50 percent of total payroll expenditure.