Our valued sponsor

Question Tax residency + travelling

MrXY

Sep 4, 2022
CI
Visit site
Hi All

First post :cool:

I currently live and work in the Channel Islands and have been here for over 15yrs. I resigned from my job and am going travelling for a year or two in the new year. I won't have an address here anymore and my stuff will be stored with family in the UK.

What do I do about my physical address used for accounts and tax residency? I'm particularly concerned about my broker account I use for investments and have Channel Islands as my tax residency/address (and have entered my tax ID). When travelling I won't be in one place for more than 3mths at a time. What does one do in a situation like this to not cause an issue with tax residency and my broker account (or any account for that matter)? I can get a UK address online no problem but am concerned that if I do that the broker will think I am a tax resident in the UK when I am not. I probably won't return to the Channel Islands due to the crazy cost of living here so while travelling will be looking for a new place to call home. In the broker account I can use a different address as a mailing address and keep the Channel Islands address as is but not sure how long this will work for or if it is acceptable.

Hopefully I've explained this properly, if I haven't let me know! :D

Appreciate any help or assistance.

You may look into this type of service.

there is another thread I can't find with more hints.

As a traveler you only got option to use banks and brokers in non-CRS countries. However this is not a recommended solution. Your best bet is to find somewhere to call your residence for banking purposes. This can be done via picking up a remote worker visa that does not tax offshore income and renting a cheap property locally in that country.

Reactions: joffreylol