Our valued sponsor

Company Structure Advice Needed - New EU Startup

MankouJoe

Oct 25, 2022
Japan
Visit site
I need some advice on the funding and structure of a new venture we are setting up in the Netherlands, the product is a physical good in the energy sector. There are three founders, each proposed to hold 33.X% each. We can cover the costs for 2023, but these costs are expected to ramp up to around 300k for 2024 and will require additional investment for the total amount. For 2023 Founder (1) and Founder (2) are hesitant about injecting more capital, as there is no revenue strategy yet. Founder (3) is pushing hard for this expansion plan - it could be slowed - but he is unable to inject more capital. Founder (3) still wants to retain his 33.X% ownership but now there is a dispute on how this would be possible. I am not an expert in company structures but it does not seem feasible to me that Founder (3) can maintain his ownership position without additional investment.

Assumptions for 2024
Costs: 300K EUR
Bank Loan: 150K - feasibility for obtaining this is unknown
Subsidy/Grant: 15K
Outstanding capital requirement: 135K

Additional investment requirement from each founder: 45K

For reference:
Founder (1): my affiliate / investor and manager
Founder (2): engineer and investor
Founder (3): engineer

If someone with knowledge of company startups in the early stages could share some advice, it would be greatly appreciated.

From my experience Founder (3) can only expect to draw a salary and cannot retain his level of ownership in 2024, or could he be granted ownership equivalent to a salary? I also do not think Founder (1) and (2) are willing/able to fill the additional 45k hole, which leaves finding another investor.