Our valued sponsor

Asia -> EU I think I f**ked up

thomasparra

Member Plus
May 30, 2020
Visit site
Even though I am a French national I have never worked or pay taxes in this country. I was employed in the US for a while and moved to HK. Because of the lockdown situation in HK, I became tired of it and left HK in September 2021. As of today I am still employed in HK and paying my taxes there. According to OECD definition I am still a fiscal resident of HK until November this year.

Upon leaving HK in Sep 2021, I stayed in France for 1 month and because of some minor health issues, I made the stupid mistake of subscribing to the national health insurance (which requirement to claim it is to actually reside in France). I should have never subcribed to this and rather get private health insurance or pay everything out of pocket as now I feel that I am at risk if the tax man checks the national healthcare data.

In terms of timeline, I went to Canada for about 3 months (Oct to Dec 2021), stayed in France till April 22 and then lived somewhere outside Europe for 3 months. Since August 22, I have been in France.

I think I have two options if taxman checks upon me

i) claim I have been residing in France since I came back from HK last year but I have been unemployed since. Hopefully CRS don't f**k me up
ii) claim I am not a resident of France (prove I did stay in Spain, Italy etc) so they can't legally say I am a resident. The issue is that I indeed took national health insurance making me a resident for tax purposes.

What would you do lol?

Just to be clear, so the 1 month you have been in France is From August 22 to now? And you subscribed to French healthcare Since August 22 is that right?

i) claim I have been residing in France since I came back from HK last year but I have been unemployed since. Hopefully CRS don't **** me up

This would be healthcare fraud :(.