Our valued sponsor

Non-US Domiciled Funds/ETFs and CRS

Rentonx

Jul 5, 2021
Argentina
Visit site
I'm an Argentina resident about to invest through a US broker in Ireland & Luxemburg-domiciled Funds and ETFs (which include US and non-US assets).

My question is: when it comes to CRS, will the assets I hold in the funds or ETFs be reported to Argentina through CRS (because Ireland and Luxemburg, the countries where the funds are domiciled are part of CRS) or will they not (because the US, where my broker is domiciled, is not part of CRS)?

I'm an Argentina resident about to invest through a US broker in Ireland & Luxemburg-domiciled Funds and ETFs (which include US and non-US assets).

My question is: when it comes to CRS, will the assets I hold in the funds or ETFs be reported to Argentina through CRS (because Ireland and Luxemburg, the countries where the funds are domiciled are part of CRS) or will they not (because the US, where my broker is domiciled, is not part of CRS)?
If your broker is in US, your brokerage account and income will be reported to Argentina via FATCA agreement.

Will they really report automatically under FATCA?

Yes FATCA is bilateral and automatic and people have been reported already.

Some good reading in this thread before asking further question on topic hap¤#".

Yeah, but Argentina is not on this list:

This article is a couple years old, but it doesn't sound like there's automatic reporting for Argentina:

Reactions: Rentonx
My question was not really about Argentina and FACTA, but about which country reports your holdings in Funds and ETFs. Is it the country where the fund/ETF is domiciled, or the country where your broker is domiciled?
USA brokers (at least IB) hold assests in their name, so if you have some ETF's form Ireland, IB is listed outside as "owner", not you.

Apparently USA doesn't have FATCA agreement with Argentina. And no reporting via CRS, since US didn't sign CRS agreement.