Our valued sponsor

Taxes for home ownership in Italy

superban

Dec 12, 2019
Visit site
Hello everyone, I have a question:

I state that I am a resident of Paraguay duly registered with AIRE (office for Italians residing abroad).

In January 2022 I became the owner of a house in Italy and it is regularly rented with a lease.

I have never filed a tax return in Italy.

What do I risk as a non-resident if I decide never to present it?

It is clear that I would like to pay as little taxes as possible in Italy, but if I decide to start paying taxes, won't I expose myself more to the Italian tax authorities?

I'm also thinking about selling the house because the taxes are high. In this case, if I sell it and I have never filed a tax return yet, can they ask me for taxes after years?

Thanks to anyone who has interesting points to share.

You must pay property taxes as a non-resident. If you keep failing to do that, they will confiscate the property and sell it at auction.
You are also supposed to pay taxes on the rent, if the contract is registered you can’t avoid it.
If you sell the house quickly, and not for a big amount, the Agenzia delle Entrate might not bother you.

You must pay property taxes as a non-resident. If you keep failing to do that, they will confiscate the property and sell it at auction.
You are also supposed to pay taxes on the rent, if the contract is registered you can’t avoid it.
If you sell the house quickly, and not for a big amount, the Agenzia delle Entrate might not bother you.

Thankyou Johnny.

So if I'm the owner since january 2022 I'm already late with tax payments?

Thankyou Johnny.

So if I'm the owner since january 2022 I'm already late with tax payments?