Our valued sponsor

A simple, non-espensive offshore company for a freelancer

patituanez

Sep 29, 2019
Visit site
I'm a freelancer and consultant. I need some simple offshore company in a more or less reputable jurisdiction. The reason I need it is because some companies haven't been willing to work with me as an individual.

Criterias:

1) relatively reputable jurisdiction

2) relatively cheap to set it up and sustain it

3) Taxes may not be low necessarily

4) Not too much paper work and scrutiny

Belize, Samoa and Seychelle won't work for me. Not the US either I think.

Your advice?

You may setup a UK company which also is able to apply for banking with EMI's and payment providers if required.

IF companies won't work with you as an indvidual, they will not work with you as a belize / BVI / offshore / tax haven either.

You will need a reputable jurisidiction. Your home country is probably the best / easiest. If you are non-resident there and really do move around a lot and do NOT return home for extended periods, so no country really has a tax claim on you, then picking a reputable jurisdiction and paying tax there is your choice (from what I understand). If you are from Europe, you can try some low tax jurisdictions so you are paying some tax, but as to how that looks when you have no connection to the place I don't know.

Picking the UK (as in the actual UK) is a good choice as it has a good business reputation and even if you have no connection there, it doesn't look funny

Which UK company? BVI? Or Island Man? Or UK itself?

will that meat all my requirements?
London is your best bet, Ireland, Netherlands or Switzerland would also work but not as good. However that is today, Brexit may cause withholding tax on payment of services such as yours ... nobody really knows how this is going to play out in the end ... and we are likely to stay in a limbo for a while in any case.