Our valued sponsor

Any ex-offshore bankers out there

offshore xpert

Oct 31, 2018
Visit site
Any ex-offshore bankers out there? I have been working for the last 20 years in offshore banking in several jurisdictions, now I am a financial consultant working on my own. A lot of offshore bankers I knew are saying that offshore banking is dead and they are dedicating themselves to other things.

Just curious to know if fellow colleagues have the same experience and if they are also considering moving on into other activities (which ones?). I am in two minds about it.
Thanks.

Hi there, I am not a professional on banking industry however I like to read and find out an article that explains that things has changed a lot and now the things that used to work in the past now it's not possible anymore.

I also read that Switzerland as the "golden jurisdiction" is "anymore" interesting because all the cash flow that used to be there it's gone. Well, I do certainly know that they lie but I respect it. Also, I read about the fallen banking in Caribbean. Mostly because bad practices all thanks to people who conduct illicit and inmoral activities.

The Law put it in force by USA to the whole world has impacted the way we used to bank, they want us to control, they want us to keep our money in their land and pay taxes. The only people I know that doesn't pay too much is the ones that belong to the high sphere.

Now we need to be more creative, adapt to the new rules and play with it.

I certainly don't know which activities you may think but what I seen is play with working for/with EMI institutions, payment providers, investment licenses, tax planning and networking with other people and not the be the black shepherd.

I was thinking, if I success on my fiel, why do I run my own bank? For that I will need to find the best talents, the best people who do great in the field running, managing a bank or EMI etc...

What do you think?