Our valued sponsor

Belize vs Seychelles for US Citizen

mandom74

Nov 20, 2018
Visit site
Hi Everyone. I'm a new user and I've been reading frantically but hopefully I'm not breaking any rules. I wanted to get opinions on which country would be best for my situation in your significantly more educated opinions.

Overview:

I'm a US citizen who qualifies for the FEIE. I do not have residency anywhere and don't intend to for the foreseeable future. I work as a freelance consultant for US based companies and get paid in USD to my personal US bank account. I clear @ $80k/year, which I pay self employment taxes on. I want to create an offshore company which will start receiving my freelance payments and which will then pay them to my personal US bank account as a salary. This will allow me to avoid paying SE taxes. Everything will be declared to the IRS as legit earnings (because it is) so I'm not overly worried about being anon.

My Plan:

At this point I've researched a bunch and it seems like either the Seychelles or Belize is my best option. Ideally I'd be able to get a USD bank account as well, but I realize that that's becoming more difficult as countries lock down their banking, and FACTA doesn't help. As an alternative, I could set up a Transferwise Business account and have my invoices paid to that, and then deposit that money into my personal account. My hope is to have this all set up and running by end of year so 2019 will be a tax free year for me.

My Question:

For the above, which do you think is better, Belize or Seychelles? I want setup and ongoing maintenance to be as easy as possible. If necessary, I could get to Seychelles in the next couple weeks and do the setup in person (business travel expense?). Does anyone have any reputable companies that don't just work with people who are trying to hide potentially questionable activities? Everything I'm doing is legit so I've no need or desire to hide.

Thanks in advance for any help!