Our valued sponsor

Flatex.de account separation?

user

Mar 11, 2021
UK
Visit site
Hi everyone, I'm a non-domiciled UK resident and want to use Flatex.de for my investments. If I understand it correctly, it's not possible to segregate capital gains/dividends in separate accounts automatically on Flatex.de. According to their customer service, when you sell shares/get dividends, they pay it out in your "cash account". Can you manually segregate it? I'm not entirely sure about how the account segregation in praxis works.

For example, I have €100k invested (clean capital)

Cash account: €0
Investment account clean capital:: €100K

Then after the first quarter, I get my first dividends; for this example let's say it's $1K. Flatex will pay it out into the cash account.

Cash account: €1K
Investment account clean capital: €100K

Ideally, I have another investment account where I invest the dividends. Is this possible on Flatex.de? Is the cash account now considered "dirty"?

Cash account (Euro): €0
Investment account clean capital: €100K
Investment account foreign interest: €1k

After one year (4 quarters) with a 10% return, the accounts look like this:

Investment account clean capital: €110K ($100k +10%)
Investment account foreign interest: €4.4k (€4K dividends + 10% capital gains)

Now I have decided to sell all of my shares in the clean capital investment account (= €10k capital gains)

Cash account (Euro): €110K
Investment account clean capital: €0K
Investment account foreign interest: €4.4k

I invest the capital gains (€10k) in a separate investment account and remit the $100K to the UK.

Offshore accounts :
Investment account clean capital: €0K
Investment account capital gains: €10K
Investment account foreign interest: €4.4k
----------
UK account: €100k