Our valued sponsor

Moving to Thailand on the Elite visa with a UK LTD - Some questions re. tax residency

kjc500

Mar 13, 2023
UK
Visit site
I'm struggling to find an answer so if anyone can help that would be appreciated...

I'm currently a UK resident and I want to move to Thailand. It seems the Elite visa is the best option for me. I have a UK Ltd company from which I take a salary and dividends from and I've been told that if I become a non-UK resident I will be able to take dividends at 0% tax in the UK (as long as my salary stays below the £12,500 threshold). On the Thai side, if you don't remit foreign derived income within the same year, it's tax free. My questions are:

1. The Elite visa doesn't allow you to work. The HMRC residency test is easy to pass if you are working full time abroad, but is there going to be trouble if the visa in Thailand does not allow work? Will HMRC basically say that I wasn't working abroad and therefore can't claim non-residency?

2. I'll most likely be in Thailand for more than 6 months of the year (UK less than 90 days). Will this make me an automatic Thai tax resident negating the above?

3. Is it necessary for me to get some kind of tax residency doc in Thailand to show as proof of residency to HMRC (even if I will not be officially working in Thailand)? And is this even possible in Thailand on the Elite? I understand that HMRC don't like it if you leave but don't become a tax resident elsewhere.

4. If I understand correctly, dividends are not classed as income, so I can take dividends from my company and Thailand would not view it as me earning income from controlling my company there, rather I'd be earning passive income as a shareholder. Is this technically correct?

The company structure is remaining for now - just trying to figure out if this scenario is doable.

Reactions: Chonsai
You mean an LLP?

Depending where are your customers you could also consider a US LLC or other tax transparent entities.