Our valued sponsor

Question Newbie question about incorporating in Central America

Lee74

May 10, 2022
Mexico
Visit site
Hi all,

I am new to the offshore thing and need a little advice.

I am an Australian citizen currently travelling in central america still as a foreign tax resident, and plan to relocate permanently to Nicaragua or Costa Rica wich I am of the understanding does not tax offshore earnings, only local. I am planning to set up an offshore corporation and bank accounts to run a small business plus crypto/share trading from. Following this I will sever all ties and employment with Australia no longer being liable there for tax on offshore earnings and instead invoicing for services from my offshore company.

My questions are:

- Any flaws or things I should consider in my plan?
- I am looking at Panama for the offshore corporation and banking, but I have been quoted $5000 USD to do this plus $1600 per annum in maintaining the company, is this a bit rich or about right?
- Whats your thoughts on Panama for my situation and if not Panama, any advice on best location to incorporate? (and I am not a millionaire)

Any assistance, much appreciated.

Reactions: JohnLocke
Costa Rica sounds to more reliable and stable then Nicaragua for setting up bank accounts. Anyway, dont expect in CR any deposit guarantee. The price you were quoted sounds a bit rich, yes. If you speak fluent spanish it would cut the price in half or more. Panama banking for and offshore company is after the Panama Papers not really into fashion or accepted by international clients. Although it has most of its shine, setting up a offshore comp in Belize is cheap and fast. Getting a bank account will be bigger challenge though.