Our valued sponsor

Online freelance consultancy business - Seychelles, Belize, BVI? Or...?

tarous

Offshore Agent
Oct 6, 2012
Visit site
Hello there,

Since it's my first post here it would be nice to say hello - so, hello! ;)

I have some ideas for the future (e-commerce etc.) but this is to come yet. Right now I just provide remote marketing consultancy services for companies from all over the world. I get my jobs via different sources - freelancers' sites, word-of-mouth etc.

I'm an EU citizen, currently living in Malaysia and not really planning to move anywhere from Asia (as a continent). In fact, I'm more of a tourist, living here and there, mostly on tourist visas (I still have a working visa in MY but it expires in a few months), since I don't work with the locals. I just carry my laptop around and work wherever I like.

However, I do want to avoid any taxation problems in the future, so I've been thinking of setting up an offshore company. Since I'm a newbie I was reading up a lot on Belize, BVI and Seychelles - because these three kept popping up most often. I'm just lost among all of the details, not really sure what option should I go with.

Let me describe the details a bit:

1. Payments from clients come either from PayPal (withdrawals from freelancers' sites) or from different banks (e.g. Latvia, Australia, US etc.). Would that be an issue? I read that PayPal is not available in all countries - that could be an obstacle right?

2. As I mentioned I travel a lot, though I'm not fulfilling the tax resident criteria in my home country in the EU. I do however, even as a tourist, spend more than 183 days a year in Malaysia, what alone would be one of the tax resident criteria here.

But foreign-sourced income is not taxable in Malaysia - is that enough to avoid being taxed here? (just making sure, I'm not a tax expert - yet ;) ).