Our valued sponsor

Question Problems with Georgia because of Russia

ahassanmaly

Nov 9, 2020
Visit site
Hello
I am holding a Georgian bank account at BOG since 2013 (I was a resident there in 2013 but left the country since then) and still using the bank account to receive payments for freelance work I do
During last month I am having issues with correspondence/ intermediary banks sending money from my BOG account to other countries (UAE for example)

Of course I have no relations to Russia or any sanctions but I heard that transfers from Georgian are being vetted more strictly as there are concerns Russians are using Georgian banks to transfer money

Anybody have recent issues with BOG or intermediary banks on transfers from Georgia generally to other countries

Between when I am doing these transfers BOTH beneficiary and remitting bank are same person which is me

Thanks

Reactions: Georgiabus
Hello
I am holding a Georgian bank account at BOG since 2013 (I was a resident there in 2013 but left the country since then) and still using the bank account to receive payments for freelance work I do
During last month I am having issues with correspondence/ intermediary banks sending money from my BOG account to other countries (UAE for example)

Of course I have no relations to Russia or any sanctions but I heard that transfers from Georgian are being vetted more strictly as there are concerns Russians are using Georgian banks to transfer money

Anybody have recent issues with BOG or intermediary banks on transfers from Georgia generally to other countries

Between when I am doing these transfers BOTH beneficiary and remitting bank are same person which is me

Thanks
Always have multiple offshore bank accounts, especially if you do business in a high risk sector. You want the option of quickly moving money to another banking jurisdiction if the need arises.

Hello

Thanks

Read -> Georgian central bank denies rumours of termination of transactions from EU