Our valued sponsor

RO micro-companies revenue threshold to be lowered in a couple years. Looking for structure options

fuzzypen

Mentor Group Silver
Nov 30, 2022
EU
Visit site
I'm a freelancer and run a consultancy as a RO SRL micro-company (I own a RO passport).
I was just shy of 500k EUR in revenue last year and I'm already projected to go a few hundred above that for 2023. I've elected to open yet another SRL micro-company, I can have a maximum of three (I can hire family members to meet all criteria, etc). I am fine for a year or two maybe, while pissing off customers cause I keep changing legal entities.

What scares me are articles like this Micro-company revenue may be lowered to 300k EUR from 2024 and 100k EUR from 2025. From what I know of the RO govt I'm 100% certain this will end up being the case.
I do not want to end up paying 16% on profits (am almost pure profit) instead of the 1% CT I pay now.

I'm planning on massively growing my business and I already have the customers locked, problem is it's all B2B work for EU countries such as DE and asking their legal dept to contract directly to say a Dubai FZ company would absolutely not fly.

What are my options for 2025 and onward
to legally lessen my tax burden for the companies? I'm not particularly looking to relocate as it's not the personal income tax that's killing me.
Is there any way to structure some sort of offshore holding company (whether Dubai FZ or anything else) and have the tax authorities not bat an eye when I'm extracting profit from the existing SRL(s) receiving customer payments?

Thanks!

I'm not particularly looking to relocate

If you don't want to relocate what about setting up an Estonian OU + director and working for the Estonian OU in Romania.

Estonian OU pay taxes ONLY when dividends are distributed and salaries paid to non residents are tax free so you'll end up paying 10% personal income tax in Romania.