Our valued sponsor

Question Source of funds for a fiscal resident of Spain

sriracha

Member Plus
Aug 25, 2022
Germany
Visit site
I intend to move to Spain and buy an apartment. I am thinking to sell stock for the amount of money necessary to buy the apartment.

I am wondering what is the right way to do that. because of

- capital gains tax - maybe I should sell my stock while I am in a country where I would pay less capital gains tax and then move to Spain? I am currently a fiscal resident of Estonia, where I have an Estonian LLC, but I could stay in an "intermediate" country in that case

- source of funds - will I have to prove the source of funds, or the very fact that I sold stock would be considered a source of funds?

I bought the stocks twenty years ago with money I received from a client, but unfortunately the paper trail that proves it is all lost and I have no way to recover it.

I totally disagree, I live in both, both top ends ( Ibiza / Barcellona / Milano )

Milano top ends? ns2

and Spain is much better. Things just work better, quality of life is better, and it's cheaper.
as usual, it's personal taste :D

Just ask anyone around the world if they would prefer a holiday in Italy or in Spain (not Milano or Barcelona).

Spain, Mallorca and Canary Island for sure, recurrent. Italy is totally overpriced.
Looks like you have been victim of tourist traps, or you are cheap.
You go to Italy once for History reasons, then never again.
Once? If that one visit lasts 10 years maybe you can say to have visited Italy.

Of course if your concept of quality of life is night clubs, then go to Ibiza, no doubt.

Reactions: marioIT
Just ask anyone around the world if they would prefer a holiday in Italy or in Spain (not Milano or Barcelona).