Our valued sponsor

Spain + US based partners, setting up in the UAE. Risky?

jamescameron

Apr 5, 2021
Spain
Visit site
I'm based in Spain where I'm a fiscal resident. I also have residency in Dubai, since I've lived there for 5 years prior to moving to Spain, and I have an Emirates ID as well as an LLC registered (that doesn't operate so far).

My partner is based in the US, where's a fiscal residence.

We have a business that's been operating for 3 years as a C-Corp based in Delaware with revenue >$1M. Our main markets are the US and Europe, where we have most of our clients (we have a couple in Dubai).

We're both looking for a better way to get paid, since we now pay up to 50% personal income tax. If we re-incorporated in Dubai and we'd distribute dividends, we'll get taxed just 25-27% instead of our current 50%.

However, how would Spain and US look at this setup? Can we claim that we incorporated in Dubai because we're based in different countries and needed an impartial jurisdiction, or is it going to lead to a tax audit?

We don't want to do anything illegal here, but we're looking at optimizing as much as we can.

Thanks

There are many variables to be taken into consideration here, including a difference in tax treatment between your partner and yourself both from a personal tax perspective as well as for structuring the operation while navigating the different anti avoidance rules of both your countries of residence. You should engage a professional advisor for this.

I am a successful Solo-preneur living in Dubai and I work through my Freezone company, that only deals with entities outside of Dubai and all of my business is online (Saas, ecom etc.). So, as far as I am aware this should be totally exempt under the new corporate tax regime being introduced (to be confirmed).