Our valued sponsor

Structure business moving from UK to UAE Offshore

I have a profitable one-man-band UK Ltd company. I used to be a UK resident, but am no more, and I am in a jurisdiction where I can take dividends at 0%. I wish to move my company to UAE offshore for tax purposes so I'd pay no corp tax, however some of my largest customers wish to remain under the UK company.

How would it possible to share "the product" with both companies? What kind of agreement needs to be written? Is it that the UAE offshore company would buy the product from the UK company, and license the UK company to use it?

Also, which company should bare the expenses? Can I put the expenses on the UK company?

Tip: You guys are awesome.

Reactions: James Turner
A lot depends on what the company does. For example, there's a difference between digital and physical goods as well as between digital and physical services. You might want to speak with a UK attorney or tax adviser about it, to make sure you don't accidentally do something wrong. This is an area with a lot of anti-avoidance type regulations that are easy to miss if you're going about it on your own.

There many ways to go about this.

One would be for the UAE company to buy the whole UK company. This usually allows for easier transfer of assets (product, customers) than between two otherwise unrelated parties. Consider the other implications of this, though, such as banks and payment processors performing immediate repeat KYB on your business.

Another is for UK to sell or license the product to UAE, which would enable UAE to offer the same product. You can look into transferring customers separately.

Two big things to keep in mind here is data protection (GDPR) and UAE itself.

Make sure that if you transfer data about any EU or UK persons to UAE it's done correctly with all relevant informed consents obtained from the data subjects.