Our valued sponsor

Question Tax minimisation for German resident

fopiro5391

Jan 3, 2022
Germany
Visit site
I'm a resident in Germany, self-employed

My idea is to incorporate a offshore company in the UK or Delaware to save on taxes

My question is: would i still be liable to pay taxes in Germany? I'd be the only employee/director of the company and will be still based in Germany
My clients are mostly in UK, France and the US

As i see it right now, there is probably no way to escape the tax burden except having a residency in a tax heaven

Also would it maybe work if i register the company with a Nominee Director residing in the foreign country?

Last edited:
If you are a German citizen, it's really easy to reduce your tax burden enormously. Just move to Malta or Cyprus. Ireland and Portugal can also work.

My idea is to incorporate a offshore company in the UK or Delaware to save on taxes
Your idea is flawed and will not work long-term.

Look at it objectively and critically. If it were possible to do what you have planned here, why isn't everyone doing it?

My question is: would i still be liable to pay taxes in Germany? I'd be the only employee/director of the company and will be still based in Germany
Yes, German corporate tax, German payroll tax, and German income tax. For German tax purposes, there is no difference if a company is incorporated in Germany or Delaware. If the business is owned or operated from Germany, it's a German tax resident.

As long as you are in Germany, you are subject to German tax laws. Any other arrangement is illegal.

It all comes down to how much you value not living in prison and/or paying back a tax debt plus fines relative to taxes you would save until the tax authority catches you.

Thanks for the reply!
Couldn't i just use my business' money to purchase cryptocurrency, transfer it to an unknown wallet and declare it as operational expense/loss? Thus not paying profit tax?
Of course you can.