Our valued sponsor

US LLC VS UK LTD (CANADIAN RESIDENT)

GearedUp

Jan 3, 2020
Visit site
Hello all!

I am planning to start my online business and I will be receiving payments from clients in the Americas, to begin with.
If it works out well - I will try to extend to the other markets.

I am stuck with one thing here: as a Canadian resident, I can't find particular information on what is better in terms of taxes in my case - creating a US LLC (Wyoming, Delaware) or going with UK LTD company (as I saw an article which stated that there is a chance of double taxation with LLC company).

Can anyone help me understand this better?

Thank you!

Why not just form a Canadian company?

US LLC or UK LTD will both be considered as tax resident, taxable entities under Canadian law. Exception only through lack of enforcement of tax law.

There is zero tax advantage for either setup, unless you also plan to set up an office with employees in US or UK

Why not just form a Canadian company?

US LLC or UK LTD will both be considered as tax resident, taxable entities under Canadian law. Exception only through lack of enforcement of tax law.

There is zero tax advantage for either setup, unless you also plan to set up an office with employees in US or UK
Then Canadian LP I assume? Are there any companies who assist with the organization and business banking?

At the start-up level, you are most interested in keeping costs down, including taxes. Forming an LLC can be done for very little upfront costs online and if structured correctly can insulate your personal assets from business liabilities.

It is my understanding that an LLC can elect to be treated as a Partnership for tax purposes, which allows the LLC’s losses and gains to be passed through and are reported on the LLC member’s own returns. No double tax.