Our valued sponsor

Question What should I do if I get small amounts of money a month in Spain?

Patronus

Jul 3, 2021
spain
Visit site
I write books and publish them on Amazon, and Amazon pays directly to my bank account. I do report these types of movements. I also receive money on Paypal from website testing/writing I don't publish on Amazon, and this I do not report.

Here's my problem: According to Spanish laws, if you get paid regularly, you should register as a freelancer and pay social security. I have looked into the workarounds but none apply to me because I am a student and I don't have another job. I currently cannot pay the fixed amount monthly which will increase to 300 euros a month eventually. I wouldn't "care" if I had to pay 25%, 50% of what I earn. However, I can't pay money to work for some side income. Technically, I cannot afford to be a freelancer, which is a stupid situation but that's how it is. I don't want to unpublish my books from Amazon nor do I plan to stop writing. I will move to another country when I finish my studies (in one to two years' time).

Is tax evasion the only way? From my research, I don't think PayPal is safe, and I could schedule some payments to a Payoneer account as I believe they don't report to authorities as of now (for the MasterCard). Is Payoneer a good idea?

You can only pray my friend.

Is tax evasion the only way?

No.

I wouldn't "care" if I had to pay 25%, 50% of what I earn.

No SS would work better for those with very low irregular self employed income.

Technically, I cannot afford to be a freelancer, which is a stupid situation but that's how it is

And this is why Spain is where it is today economically with poor policies :(.

Reactions: JackAlabama