Our valued sponsor

Working for my UK company remotely in Dubai

Walter Rowe

Mar 5, 2019
Visit site
Quick question for the forum

If i have a UK company with UK clients - can i work remotely in Dubai and take all the profits out as a salary? Or do i have to do it as dividends ( i currently take the max tax free allowance @£12K and then payout as dividends for the rest )

I'm looking at the idea that if i pay it all as a big salary ( eg going from £12k to £100K), if I'm a Dubai tax resident, I'd be taxed at 0%.

I'm currently in the UK but am able to work remotely with very minimal UK time involved ( eg <30 days a year).

I am also aware that if i was working for those 30 days while in the UK then i am subject to UK tax on those days - presumably pro rata my salary.

If you're going to actually live in Dubai it's probably better to just set up Dubai freezone company out here and carry on as normal. This way you'll have no corporate or income tax.

I was in a similar position, UK ltd co, UK and US clients but my work is wholly online - moved out here with a FZCO and never looked back.

Only downside is some clients don't like dealing with a foreign company or banks, so a local bank account for a local company to act as your payment processor, receiving client money then immediately forwarding to Dubai and you should be good.

Reactions: JimBeam
If you're going to actually live in Dubai it's probably better to just set up Dubai freezone company out here and carry on as normal. This way you'll have no corporate or income tax.

I was in a similar position, UK ltd co, UK and US clients but my work is wholly online - moved out here with a FZCO and never looked back.

Only downside is some clients don't like dealing with a foreign company or banks, so a local bank account for a local company to act as your payment processor, receiving client money then immediately forwarding to Dubai and you should be good.