Our valued sponsor

Digital nomad taxes suggestions.

bambangan

Jun 29, 2023
Malaysia
Visit site
Hey guys,

I'm a freelancer from Malaysia and based in Malaysia. I've been travelling around and planning to travel more eventually as my work is fully remote.
I currently have to pay around 20% in income tax in Malaysia, if I'm out of the country more than 183 days it'll be a fixed 30% rate which is quite high.

Any recommendations on how I can legally pay less taxes? Should I look to set up a company abroad or consider looking for a tax residency somewhere else? I'm still quite new to this and hope you guys could share some tips and recommendations. I'm open to all options!

Thank you in advance.

• Wow
Reactions: jafo
Do you work for companies/clients in Malaysia or outside of Malaysia?

The 30% tax rate for non-residents is for income accruing in or derives from Malaysia.

So if you become non-resident of Malaysia your clients are in Malaysia, there is 30% tax on that income if you leave Malaysia. However, if your clients are from outside of Malaysia and you are non-resident, there would be no Malaysian tax.

If you add a company and stay resident in Malaysia, you're looking at between 15% and 24% corporate income tax. Dividends are not taxed.

If you leave Malaysia (fully and properly) and form a company wherever you set up base, there would be no scope for Malaysian tax.

A good tax lawyer can give you more detailed guidance, though.

Reactions: olalavui and Larin
So if you become non-resident of Malaysia your clients are in Malaysia, there is 30% tax on that income if you leave Malaysia.
If @bambamgan leaves he is taxed more than if he stays and consumes local resources?
Can anyone explain the logic of the tax authorities here?

PS. I know it's bold for me to assume there is a "logic", but can someone please humor me?

If @bambamgan leaves he is taxed more than if he stays and consumes local resources?