Our valued sponsor

Best offshore countries for EU citizens

Duke

May 31, 2018
Visit site
This is my first time researching. Forgive me for any questions that might seem obvious to you.

What are the best countries an EU citizen can legally place their money out of reach of the EU based on treaties, agreements or lack thereof? I'm talking about a simple personal savings account.

Should I be making a distinction between the EU in general and my specific country? For example, is it possible for an EU citizen of one country to bank in another EU country but still be protected?

Reactions: snijers and diablo
Difficult question. To own and use a offshore corp is not illegal it is just a matter of reporting.
Of course you can use a Eu corp in CY ,MT. IE.LUX for your funds and banking it just depends on your situation and plans

"Out of reach" in what sense? If you want a banking jurisdiction that does not report back to your home country, you would need a non-CRS jurisdiction. There aren't many left, but some are not bad. https://www.oecd.org/tax/transparency/AEOI-commitments.pdf

If you want to keep your money in Euros in a non-CRS jurisdiction, you're still subject to currency risk - all non-EU banks that hold Euros will have a correspondent account with an EU bank. If that bank fails, your money will be at risk. So if "out of reach" means "safe", no EUR account anywhere is "safe".

"Out of reach" in what sense? If you want a banking jurisdiction that does not report back to your home country, you would need a non-CRS jurisdiction. There aren't many left, but some are not bad. https://www.oecd.org/tax/transparency/AEOI-commitments.pdf

If you want to keep your money in Euros in a non-CRS jurisdiction, you're still subject to currency risk - all non-EU banks that hold Euros will have a correspondent account with an EU bank. If that bank fails, your money will be at risk. So if "out of reach" means "safe", no EUR account anywhere is "safe".
Hi,