Our valued sponsor

Buying Property in Dubai with Mortgage : Risky?

I'm a Resident of Canada, looking to move to the UAE or similar low tax jurisdiction within a year or so.

I was looking at property prices in Dubai and they seem reasonable compared to Canada.

Obviously I don't want to throw $800K to a Villa in cash, so I was thinking about applying for a local UAE mortgage.

Is this even a possibility for fresh residents of the UAE or do I need to wait a few years and build credit history?

What risks do I face if I suddenly no longer am able to pay the Debt, can I list the house for sale and re-pay the mortgage that way
or do I go straight to Jail considering Arabs harsh laws on local debts?

You don't go to jail for debt anymore, but you can get a travel ban until you settle.
Mortgage is doable, you can list the house for sale, the buyer will have to issue a check to the bank first and the rest to you.
Be aware that the prices in Dubai are currently ATH and especially with villas there are a lot of areas with low liquidity and a pressure from new-builds.

You don't go to jail for debt anymore, but you can get a travel ban until you settle.
Mortgage is doable, you can list the house for sale, the buyer will have to issue a check to the bank first and the rest to you.
Be aware that the prices in Dubai are currently ATH and especially with villas there are a lot of areas with low liquidity and a pressure from new-builds.
i guess that's because of Russian money?

Are there a lot of new villas being built to keep up with the demand?

i guess that's because of Russian money?

Are there a lot of new villas being built to keep up with the demand?

Yes, it's because the use of illicit funds that makes these buyers pay whatever it takes. Also, the brokers are artificially pushing up the prices.
In Dubai, the availability of vast desert land for construction means that the properties are not maintaining their value.

Reactions: John Spectre