Our valued sponsor

Can validity of a card be extended without reissuing a card?

Samman Kaseeb Sleiman

Jun 21, 2022
X
Visit site
I have a MasterCard card from Armenia. On it's written that it's valid till {{Month N}} / 2022. However, recently I've noticied in the internet banking that its validity got extended to be until 2024 (or 2025, I don't remember). That is, for the same physical card, and not a new one that the bank would issue me.

And the month of 2024 too has changed.

I asked the bank and it confirmed it - now it's till 2024.

How can it be?

I have a MasterCard card from Armenia. On it's written that it's valid till {{Month N}} / 2022. However, recently I've noticied in the internet banking that its validity got extended to be until 2024 (or 2025, I don't remember). That is, for the same physical card, and not a new one that the bank would issue me.

And the month of 2024 too has changed.

I asked the bank and it confirmed it - now it's till 2024.

How can it be?
From the technical point of view, it is pretty simple. At the absolutely prevailing majority of cases now, the expiry date of your card is checked against the on-line database, not physically on-site. So it is quite imaginable (although definitely not common, AFAIK) just to change the date in the database and not to bother with issuing & sending a card. Of course, if someone extraordinally curious looks at your card, the need for an explanation will very probably arise...
Once again: the SAME PHYSICAL card.

And the bank told me that it wouldn't send me a new card, and instead I'd have to a) order it b) pick it up.