Our valued sponsor

Company taxed at partnership or individual level?

Superguillus

Oct 19, 2020
Visit site
Hello everyone,

I'm a freelancer looking to form a company in a country with zero or very low taxes compatible with EMIs and normal banks if I ever need to, so Seychelles, Belize, etc are discarded. BVI looks very interesting, but my clients need the company to be taxed at partnership level and not individual level because of regulations and stuff...

As far as I understand this refers to pass-through companies right? Forming something like a US S Corp in the BVI would not work, but something like a US C Corp would if I understand correctly. Are BVI companies taxed at individual or partnership level?

This forum has been really useful for my research, thanks everyone!

Solution
Before you spend time and money on this, double check that you are living in a tax haven as this structure is otherwise at ever-increasing risk of collapsing and landing you in hot water with the local tax authority (back taxes, penalties, prison for tax evasion/money laundering).

Generally speaking, only companies formed as Partnerships (most commonly LP, LLP, GP) or Limited Liability Companies (LLC) are taxed as partnerships, meaning the entity itself isn't taxed but its partners/members are taxed on personal income. If the partners/members are non-resident in the country of incorporation, no tax at all applies in that jurisdiction.

In the case of the US, S and C Corps are taxable entities (they pay corporate income tax) and LLCs...
Before you spend time and money on this, double check that you are living in a tax haven as this structure is otherwise at ever-increasing risk of collapsing and landing you in hot water with the local tax authority (back taxes, penalties, prison for tax evasion/money laundering).