Our valued sponsor

HMRC Power For Offshore Citizen

jonnyvelvet

Jul 25, 2019
Visit site
I am a channel island resident which is not part of the UK and have been domiciled in Thailand for the last 7 years. I haven't live in the UK for over 8-9 years, never had a UK bank account, never been on any registers as I survived by club promoting for cash for 5 years so no on any radar in the UK.

I now have a succesful online business and company registered in Hong Kong and applied for a UK VAT number which I use for my suppliers to get VAT zero rated supplies. I have no intention of paying any VAT over unless someone can prove me wrong below.

My question is firstly.

If I just keep paying the VAT assessment they give me (essentially fiddle the figures) and not submit returns, what actual powers do HMRC have? Im not even a UK passport holder, I just have UK customers. They are hardly going to send someone to Thailand to chase a foreigner who has a non UK passport and a Hong Kong Company? I suppose they could chase the company, but I could just fold the company if it ever got that point and put two fingers up and start again.

Secondly, I havent lived in the Channel Island since I was at school around 23 years ago other than a year period I went home to stay with my parents unemployed before I moved to Asia never been on the register in my passport country either. So, they can hardly claim anything of me as I can clearly prove I dont live there.

I am going to apply for personal tax residency in Thailand as I have no desire whatsoever to return to the UK or my home country. So at least I will have something more formal to show if ever required (which I have no intention of co-operating) my assets over here are not not my name and I have around 160,000gbp saving in an e account, but transferring that over to an FX account in Thailand soon.