Our valued sponsor

Is it better to setup an offshore company for freelancer?

senty

Jul 9, 2018
Visit site
Hi, I am a young freelancer (programmer) and permanent tourist/digital nomad for the past 2 years. Now my income has been rising and I'll clearly need to declare it/pay taxes and I wanted to ask for your advice about the optimum way. There are lots of opinions online but I couldn't figure out how to achieve the best deal.

I am both UK citizen & Cyprus citizen & North Cyprus citizen. I am living in the EU as a tourist (without becoming tax-resident anywhere). However, my clients are from US mainly.

For the past week, I have been researching the options; and apparently there are 2 options - self-employed or LTD or offshore LTD. These are all new to me so if I have any misunderstandings, please please correct me.

My findings are:
- For the UK, if I opt in as self-employed, £0-30k is liable to 20% tax - and first £11.500 is allowance. I am not sure if foreign-earned money is tax-free.
- For Cyprus self-employed, apparently first €19.5k is %0 tax. And it is said that "income from employment outside Cyprus is not taxable" - on Europa

- If I decide to create a UK limited company (one director/owner), the corporate tax comes in - which is 19% - (and as far as I understand I will be the employee of the limited company at the same time). I read about one tactic which is having a salary to the director of £11.500/yr and also there is £5000 tax allowance for dividends - which makes £16,500 tax free.

- Also there is a offshore company option in North Cyprus free-zone - which is %0 corporate tax for foreign-earned money but I'll still need to pay my income tax somewhere.

I doubt combining North Cyprus LTD & Cyprus for income tax may be an issue because Cyprus doesn't recognize North Cyprus, have no clue.

I'd be grateful for any inputs. What would you do if you were in my shoes?

Reactions: negon
I have company in HK and I use a debit card from the company account.