Our valued sponsor

Portugal NHR combined with Georgia Virtual Zone company

mallshtow

Mar 26, 2021
World
Visit site
Hi, I'm a software engineer working for a fund (for which I have some shares in) so I have to incomes: monthly salary from providing services to it and also the dividends that the fund distributes each year. I'd like to know what's the best strategy for me. My main idea is the following:
- I'll be setting up residency in Portugal under the NHR programme
- Incorporating a company in Georgia (which will apply to get the Virtual Zone status).

Georgia Virtual Zone company:
  • 0% corporate tax,
  • 0% VAT,
  • 5% capital gains tax on dividends (due when dividends are paid out to the shareholders),
  • no annual license fees.
As far as I understand, the 2 income I'm having (mentioned above) will not be paying any tax as my Georgia company will be having 0% corporate tax. I will only have 5% when distributing dividends (but as long as I keep the money there, I would not have to pay anything).

And, in Portugal, I would not have to pay anything.

Thoughts?

Thanks!!

You wrote that you have a salary. But what you meant is that you would be sending invoices from your Georgian company to your client?
The clear risk here is that Portugal could claim that you run your "Georgian" company from Portugal and also work from there, so it should be treated like a Portuguese company.
You might be able to reduce that risk a bit by hiring local employees in Georgia, especially a local director, but some risk remains.
You might be better off using a well-proven setup that has been implemented for hundreds of such NHR clients. I believe they typically involve companies in Malta or Cyprus. It's probably more expensive, but at least you have a common setup, not an exotic one. Talk to some Portuguese lawyers and get a quote. I believe it's typically about 10k per year.
But even then, there is always some risk if you spend a lot of time in Portugal.

Reactions: khinkali