Our valued sponsor

Portugal NHR - Software

4050ebbc

Jun 14, 2023
BG
Visit site
I (privately) own the IP of some software that I developed and that I'm licensing to some clients, I do no active work on the software, this is passive income. I'm a tax resident in Portugal under the NHR schema and I intend to live in Portugal while I have NHR status.

I have a UK LTD with a nominee shareholder & director (set-up to avoid PE and arms-length pricing discussions) that I'm using to invoice my clients. This shareholder/director is a friend of mine who is a UK resident.
The LTD pays me royalties (most of the income of the LTD) at a 5% WHT, which is tax-exempt in Portugal under the NHR scheme.
Recently, I've had some struggles with my friend, making me more uncomfortable with the set-up, so i'm thinking for longer-term alternatives and could use some inspiration or input. Main goal is to be able to report it in Portugal under NHR as passive income (either dividends, or royalties).

I'm aware there will be more exposure to potential PE and transfer pricing issues, and that it might be relying on Portugal not being very aggressive in its taxation enforcement.

On top of my mind:
  • Finding another nominee shareholder and/or director for the UK LTD. Is this doable and reliable these days?
  • Becoming shareholder/director in the UK LTD (or a new LTD) myself - but then i'm paying royalties to myself
  • US LLC with pass-trough taxation and declare as dividends (technically not compliant, i know)
Other potential options (not all researched into detail) based upon reading here:
  • Bulgaria (10+5 %) - pretty 'high' taxation but also very compliant (except PE rules).
  • Estonia company and pay wages (i could declare them otherwise in Portugal, that part is mainly creating paper proof).
  • Malta resident non-dom
    • might be hard to claim residency in Malta when not residing there myself? probably would need maltese director?