Our valued sponsor

Suitable Jurisdiction for Side Hustle, EU Resident

DBeker

Jul 19, 2022
France
Visit site
Hello all - I'm a resident in France and a salaried employee at a regular 9-5 job type thing. I have some occasional side activities that can generate some income (inconsistently, so some months there will be good cash coming in and other months, there may be nothing sort of thing) for mainly online consulting type work in a niche field. I estimate around 30K EUR of revenue for the first year, as a side activity. But the nature of the services that I'm providing is probably better suited to be behind a company rather than a sole proprietorship.

I am fine to report/declare all income in France and so it is not for tax reasons, but as I am a salaried employee here, I would like to be set up with a company outside of France - mainly just so that I don't appear on the French UBO register.

I don't have an issue in being on a UBO register in another EU country, or elsewhere. The reason for this is that I'm a salaried employee here and technically I should not be having side-hustles but secondly, should something happen and my employer needs to lay people off etc. I don't want to run into issues when (if) I need to file for unemployment benefit (which in France are very generous!). I've heard of stories of company directors on the French UBO list have had issues in claiming unemployment benefit after losing their primary source of income through their day-job.

Given that this will be a part-time/side thing and not likely to generate high amounts of income, at least not initially. I am looking for an inexpensive set up (ideally something that can be done fully remotely) with easy/minimal reporting requirements and ease for banking/payment processing.

I was thinking perhaps Ireland as it is EU, but not sure if this is cost effective. Also I don't know how CFC rules are considered within the EU - but I figure it would be simpler than an outside-EU option.