Our valued sponsor

UK non-dom: best offshore brokers and banks account

zedforzane

May 27, 2020
Visit site
I am an uk non-dom resident (European citizen)
I was wondering what are the best offshore personal bank account and what are the best broker/investment account (for stock & ETF)?
with the possibility of being opened remotely with less than 100k.
what to avoid and tips for UK non-dom?

thanks!

Reactions: JohnLocke
As a UK non-dom you can open an account at Barclays international in Jersey online. 25k minimum. For brokers I would be very careful as many EU brokers will actually open a brokerage account with their UK entity (if they have one) once they realize you are resident in UK. This defeats your whole non-dom status.

Personally I would go with Flatex.de. Cheapest around and you get access to dark pools and dedicated IBAN's in EUR/GBP/USD.

Are there any alternatives for bank accounts in Europe?
(obviously outside the UK)

Pretty much any bank in Europe. I can't list them all. But please read what I say below before you cock your status up.

I don't know how much you know about non-dom status but you need to be careful what you invest in also. If you invest in any UK situs funds, stocks etc by accident it will be considered a remittance and taxed as such. You are always best to work with banks in Switzerland, Channel Islands or Luxembourg that are familiar with the UK non-dom status. Your accounts need to be setup correctly so your offshore income is separated from your offshore capital in seperate accounts for investment and settlement. If you mix the two in your offshore investments then you end up with dirty capital. The net effect is that later remitting it to UK will not give you a tax advantage.

See my advice below

P.S It's a complex area and you need to work with both a UK accountant and broker/banks that understand your status like UBS, CS in Switzerland or Barclays etc in Channel Islands.

All Crystal Clear,
Thanks again for the advice.