Our valued sponsor

Understanding the Full Scope of Permanent Establishment Regulations

krispy

Mar 12, 2021
Europe
Visit site
Hi,

I'm seeking more information on the topic of Permanent Establishment (PE) and its implications.

If I am a tax resident of Country A and open an offshore company in Country B, I understand that by law, I must report the ownership of the company in Country B to the authorities in Country A. Additionally, I am required to obtain a tax number in Country A for my company in Country B due to my residency status.

I assume that PE considerations are not limited to corporate tax alone. Are there other obligations or requirements I should be aware of?

Appreciate all help on the topic!

I am sure others will give more specific answers if you provide specific countries that you are interested in.

If I am a tax resident of Country A and open an offshore company in Country B, I understand that by law, I must report the ownership of the company in Country B to the authorities in Country A.
Yes.

Additionally, I am required to obtain a tax number in Country A for my company in Country B due to my residency status.
Depends on the country and your overall company structure.

I assume that PE considerations are not limited to corporate tax alone. Are there other obligations or requirements I should be aware of?
Again very specific to which countries you are speaking of. If the country you are tax resident is very strict there may be rules such as showing some substance behind your offshore company like reason why it is located there (lowering taxes might not be enough), physical offices, potential staff there, potential resident company director and so on. If you manage your company from country A it might get automatically assigned as resident of company A regardless it is in country B for example.