Our valued sponsor

What’s the best way to leave a country?

Casper

Nov 13, 2021
Sweden
Visit site
I’ve tried to tell the tax department, in Portugal, that I’m leaving. But then they want a new address. I’m currently a resident, but not a citizen. I’m going to travel for quite some time so I don’t have a new address to give them. I tried to just give them an address for a place I might stay for some time, but they didn’t accept that.

Is there a clever way to do it, or should I just ignore it? If I’m not staying in the country and don’t have any ties to the country, I assume that’ll do?

Would it be a problem if I used an address from something like the digital residency in Palau?

Reactions: koohl
I’ve tried to tell the tax department, in Portugal, that I’m leaving. But then they want a new address. I’m currently a resident, but not a citizen. I’m going to travel for quite some time so I don’t have a new address to give them. I tried to just give them an address for a place I might stay for some time, but they didn’t accept that.

Is there a clever way to do it, or should I just ignore it? If I’m not staying in the country and don’t have any ties to the country, I assume that’ll do?
Establish a new place of genuine tax residence, give them that address, and then go travel the world. If you don't do it properly, Portugal may not accept that you are non-resident and treat you as a resident until proven otherwise.

If you're an EU citizen, one of the easiest options you have is the 60-day tax residence program in Cyprus. Move there, rent a place to live for at least a year, spend 60 days in Cyprus, and then start travelling the world. As long as you don't become tax resident anywhere else, you qualify as tax resident in Cyprus by just spending 60 days per year there. You can get a tax residence certificate to show the Portuguese tax authority, in addition to your proof of registration/residence permit.