Our valued sponsor

What is the safest way to invest in gold: physical storage or ETF?

pastet89

Dec 13, 2021
Europe
Visit site
Is it safer to invest in gold ETF or to buy physical gold and to store it somewhere?

The physical stuff seems super complicated and risky to me, how to get it, transport it, keep it in good conditions, think of a place to store it without risk of a physical theft etc...
I have zero experience with gold but to me the risk of someone stealing it from home seems higher than a reputable brokcker like IB going down for example.

And if you don't store it at home but at a bank safe or sth similar, what's the difference between this and ETF - when the gold is not in your hands anyway?

On the other side, we discussed recently in the crypto topic for tokenized gold that putting the gold in the hands of other companies means trusting them and risking they to fail.

I would be happy to hear opinions on that from people with experience in gold investing.

No matter how you look at it, an investment is fraught with risk. If we completely disregard the possibility of confiscation due to either a lack of documentation for the money used to purchase the gold, or because of war breaking out, then I would say that both scenarios carry equal risk, essentially 50/50!

It's much easier to invest in Gold through ETFs than buying Gold and transporting it as you suggest. However, it must be said that there are thousands of Gold depots where you can also buy and sell the gold, so it never leaves its physical location. And there are safety deposit boxes where you can order Gold to be kept for you until you arrive as agreed.

Reactions: Radko