Our valued sponsor

Cheapest jurisdiction for a partially dormant company?

blubb

Feb 19, 2023
Malta
Visit site
Hi,

I'm a non-domiciled resident of Malta and looking to incorporate an IT services company that will be dormant from time to time, quite possibly several years in a row.

Wondering which structure you would advise for this purpose?

Malta Ltd companies have rather high fixed cost due to auditing requirements, which I'd like to avoid for the dormant years. Seeing incorporation is so easy in the UK I've been thinking about incorporating a private Ltd there. I'd then register a branch in Malta whenever the company is active and close it down again during dormancy.

This should in theory make all income taxable in Malta as the business will be conducted from Malta (i.e. work physically performed in Malta). The customers will most probably be EU companies, but there might be UK customers as well.

What are your thoughts on this? Or what would you suggest instead?

Looking forward to your insights

When you factor in the costs of registering and deregistering a branch of a foreign company, the potential complications of having to sort our your tax burden under a relevant tax treaty, VAT registration, et cetera, and considering the cost of your own time, are you sure it's not cheaper to just set up a Maltese company?

Since he is already a Malta non dom he could easily be the director of the resident non domiciled company so the budget is the cost of the offshore company formation.
I believe this is best suited if the company would receive income from outside Malta (e.g., royalties, investments), but if source of income is Malta then it will be taxed in Malta.
In terms of Maltese domestic tax law, a non-resident is, in principle, subject to Maltese tax on income arising in Malta, irrespective of the existence or otherwise of a PE in Malta (subject to any double tax treaty provisions that would apply if in conflict with Maltese tax law).

Last edited: