Our valued sponsor

German resident and UK income

pamparana

Feb 28, 2021
Gerrmany
Visit site
I am a German resident and citizen and I have a full-time job here which pays taxes as usual and everything is on board.

Now additionally, I have been a bit naughty and have been doing some side jobs for a company based in the UK (and been using my old UK bank account) and generating around £6K/month on the side. So far I have not declared it and left the money alone in the bank.

However, I realize that this is not sustainable and basically I have these choices:

1: Going forward declare this as additional income and hope they do not look too deeply in the last year
2: Try and find some effective setup that minimizes the tax burden.
3: Continue as is.

I would have left Germany for more tax-friendly lands for this but I have a kid here and unfortunately am tied to this country for the next 10 years at least.

What do you guys think could be a good option for me?

Reactions: Allisgood
1: Going forward declare this as additional income and hope they do not look too deeply in the last year
that is the very best option for you to avoid troubles, huge troubles in the future. You can't hide in Germany with such money.

Alternatives: get paid in crypto, keep the crypto for at least one year, exchange it tax free. There could be a problem with the source of funds for the cryptos at first.

Reactions: pamparana
that is the very best option for you to avoid troubles, huge troubles in the future. You can't hide in Germany with such money.

Alternatives: get paid in crypto, keep the crypto for at least one year, exchange it tax free. There could be a problem with the source of funds for the cryptos at first.

Yeah, I am thinking this as well.

Especially with a kid depending on me as well, it is probably not worth it for me to do this.

So far I have been using the UK account and a UK address but this is hardly sustainable going forward.