Our valued sponsor

German resident: moving away but family stays

paterke

Jan 9, 2024
Germany
Visit site
Hello,
I'm an EU citizen resident in Germany (I'm not German).
For personal reasons, I want to move out to Germany (back to Italy). In Germany I have a wife and two kids, and I own an apartment.
I will be traveling between Germany and Italy, but I will definitively spend more time in Italy (over 180 days).
My German accountant confirmed that I should not be tax liable in Germany, even though my family stays here. But I have read of various cases, where the German tax office considered also the "centre of life" (family, house, etc.) as a criteria for tax liability.

Does anyone have any experience around this topic?

Thanks

Reactions: koohl
Does anyone have any experience around this topic?

You are 100% German tax resident.

Not only you have wife and kids but you also own an apartment.

My German accountant confirmed that I should not be tax liable in Germany,

You should fire your accountant as fast as you can.

You should fire your accountant as fast as you can.
So true, fire this ******** he does not know what he talk about and will bring you lot's of money troubles to the door. The German tax office will hunt you down like an evil pig.

I think we need more information before we (and the accountants) can give any advice. What taxes are we talking about (income from self employment, income from employment, dividends, interest)?

You can read the taxation agreement.