Our valued sponsor

Greetings from Sweden, need some advice!

DavidTheDude

Jun 2, 2021
Sweden
Visit site
Hi! I am new to this forum and it seems like an amazing resource for offshore discussion. I am a newbie but I'm willing to listen and learn from the experts here and hopefully be able to gather enough knowledge on what I can do for my situation. I'd also like to join the mentor group gold for further advice/knowledge but I'd first like some advice about my plan and I would be thankful for answers! :)

I am a Swedish citizen, which means that if I profit around SEK 500 000 (USD 60 437,28) a year, I would have to pay 66.741% of that in income tax. And if I want to spend that money I'd be taxed 25% VAT on the products that I buy. Needless to say, I'm getting taxed to oblivion.

So my question is if it is even worth it to register the company in Sweden, to begin with? (Assuming I make more than 6K dollars a year? See below for more info)

I am going to be running an e-commerce store with 0 employees and only sell virtual goods (3D models for architects/game devs) and declaring VAT is a nightmare if you are registered in the EU and selling to other EU countries because of different VAT rates etc.

Registering an exempted company and bank in the Cayman Islands would cost around 4-5K dollars and then 2600 dollars in annual fees. (From what I've read so far)

So if I only profit 6000 dollars a year from my theoretically registered Swedish company I would only get to keep 3201 dollars. The 2799 dollars that were taxed might as well have been spent on Cayman annual company fees. I think I will be able to make more than 6000 dollars per year, so is there a reason not to register the company offshore when making 6000 dollars profit and beyond?