Our valued sponsor

Living in Spain as non resident

Max2020

Nov 23, 2020
Visit site
I'm an it consultant in Belgium, because Corona I can relocate easy to another country.
Would it be possible to relocate to Spain maybe as non tax resident or even under the beckam regime?

Another option I was thinking was to become resident in Malta, UAE or Cyprus, stay there 2 months a year (DTA between Cyprus and Belgium is in place), and the rest I travel between Spain and Belgium. I this doable?

The most important thing for you is to get out of the local (homeland) tax office radar. Spain will not care about you either. And then you can freely choose your tax residency (Malta, UAE, or Cyprus).

If you ask my opinion, I would most likely choose the UAE.
So it's possible to have a company in UAE, but live in spain. The problem is my home country can a tax certificate... To prove I pay taxes somewhere.

I'm an it consultant in Belgium, because Corona I can relocate easy to another country.
Would it be possible to relocate to Spain maybe as non tax resident or even under the beckam regime?

Another option I was thinking was to become resident in Malta, UAE or Cyprus, stay there 2 months a year (DTA between Cyprus and Belgium is in place), and the rest I travel between Spain and Belgium. I this doable?
This is a good solution. Many people do this especially those in the consulting and IT industry. If you don't trigger the minimum periods your allowed in Belgium then Spain won't care and you nre home country is the UAE.

Its all about the certificate of residency, it triggers the DTA between the 2 countries to define where you are a tax resident. Without this and for countries like Belgium, Spain, France perhaps even Germany, its a gamble and if you were paying a lot of taxes before they will likely be after you.