Our valued sponsor

Looking to explore the offshore license business. Guidance needed.

Hello All:

My apologies for not introducing myself earlier. I've lurked on this forum for a while now.

I have been a lawyer for roughly a year and I am interested in starting my own business. I am fascinated with offshore services but I haven't found the space to enter the industry as an entrepreneur. I live and practice law in Canada which, as we all know, is not an offshore haven and therefore not an ideal location to launch a business as a service provider.

However, over the past couple months I have noticed that a lot of offshore services firms help their clients attain licenses for particular business activities (crypto/blockchain, gambling, banking, etc.) in favorable jurisdictions. A lot of these firms advertise themselves as 'Fintech lawyers.' In this regard, I noticed that the Canadian MSB license is popular among crypto/blockchain businesses. Similarly, I've read about the popularity of similar Canadian licenses for online gambling (Kahnawake Indian Reserve, for example).

Can anyone provide me with some guidance as to how I can enter the offshore license business? How would I go about selling licensing services for the Canadian MSB license, for example? Do the internal dynamics of the offshore licensing business work the same as the offshore services industry generally (differentiation between affiliate/referrer, resellers, licensing/registration in the host country) (i.e., if I wanted to offer licensing services in a different location than the one I am domiciled in, must I have a relationship with a licensing/registration agent in the host country?). Lastly, how can I go about forming the relationships necessary to start offering these services?

I will appreciate any advice/guidance you guys can offer!

Thank you!

Last edited: