Our valued sponsor

Non-Resident UK related taxation

sefhan

Offshore Agent
Jan 10, 2013
Visit site
The situation detailed below is something which I have spent many hours discussing, considering and trying to resolve.

I would sincerely appreciate any advice offered as to whether my plans are sufficiently informed as to avoid repercussions from any authorities in the future:

Over the past few years I have been working on and off in a ‘consultancy’ role, primarily to a single UK company (developing new online sales markets) although also working for other firms in-line with IR35 regulations. Originally self-employed, I have been operating as a LTD company myself for the past 12 months and although barely present in the UK during this period, I have not registered as non-resident up to know.

I should point out that I have a very, very good relationship with the ownership of the trading company and a very flexible arrangement which has basically led to me retrospectively engineering my status from a tax point in recent years, in accordance with the success of our trading.

As I have been working outside the country successfully for most of the past year, and have spent more time outside the UK than inside over the past 5/6 years, I have decided to therefore become non-resident of the UK and will cease trading from my current UK based consultancy. I have reviewed the current regulations and the new 2013 statutory regulations regarding non-residency and will fall well within their guidelines. I’m well under 30 years old and therefore have no other business ties, no property and no family in the UK. Indeed I am considering to spend but 15 days in the UK for 2013-2014 and therefore leave no room for questioning that I am not UK resident. That said, I will certainly aim to present in the UK for around 40 days per year on average over the coming years, which falls well within the statutory requirements for my given circumstances.