Our valued sponsor

Offshore Bank Account Query

Joey32

Jan 27, 2017
Visit site
Hello everybody,

I have a very specific and urgent query relating to my personal circumstances, and I'd like some basic professional advice before joining the group mentor access program.

I am an Australian resident, with a friend overseas who has given me exclusive access to his bank account in the British Virgin Islands (he has since switched jurisdictions, and no longer has any need for it). The account is a business account, however it has not been legitimately incorporated, and therefore is not a corporate account.

Ideally I would like to start using this account to hold my personal funds, while minimising my tax at the same time (preferably in a smart and legal way). However: I do not already own or operate a company or business. So if I just started redirecting my income into the BVI account, the Australian authorities might think I was a tax cheat., and investigate me.

Questions...

1 Do I need to incorporate this bank account?;
2 If so, how? Could I incorporate it by buying an "off-the-shelf" company, attaching this company to the bank account, and have somebody else run it for me?;
3 What problems or complications might be involved in doing this?

I shall continue conducting my own research, although any advice or suggestions in the meantime would be hugely appreciated!

Cheers.

Personally I would not touch this for two reasons!

1) If you start transfering money to the account as it is you run the ris kthat the bank will notice the beginning activity on the account and monitor it. Once there are X amount in the account they will request new and up to date documents for the account holder. If they for any reason find out that you as a 3rd party have "rented" his account they will freeze and close it!