Our valued sponsor

Purchasing and registering cars in Germany

drakeo

Mar 19, 2023
Sweden
Visit site
I want to buy at least two cars in Germany for personal use. I’m an EU resident but I cannot have cars registered in my home country because I have almost no income on paper here therefore I don’t want to risk registering it here since that could trigger alerts. Ideally I would want to buy and reg the car in Germany.
Idea 1: Holding company on some island -> Company in DE (if required) with a dirt cheap office space in some druggie area (idk). This is in order to get DE license plates -> vehicles would ideally be in some kind of trust structure - Owns all cars I want. -> I rent cars from the company/trust.
Idea 2: If quick and easy: Buy car in Germany -> Buy shithole in DE to become eligible to register car in Germany + Insurance. Would only want to buy one car <60k EUR in my name. So this would only be a short term solution.
Idea 3: Buy in Germany, register in some EU country that can quickly get me plates. Bulgaria was mentioned here but found no info other than their own website.
EVs only I don't care about tax or insurance cost really.

Experiences and thoughts are very appreciated. :)

Sounds like a really stupid idea to buy the car in a country with some of the strictest tax and AML laws. A company would come with a ton of accounting requirements (such as proving the car is actually used for business purposes) and registering it in your own name would trigger tax residency.
Idea 3 sounds like a better idea, ideally some country where residency doesn't trigger tax residency. Or some country where tax residency might even come with tax benefits, such as Cyprus or Portugal.
I've seen lot of expensive cars on Bulgarian and Romanian plates around Europe btw, I've always wondered what that's about...