Our valued sponsor

Register Estonian Company with Local Tax Authorities

eRabbit

Apr 29, 2020
Visit site
Hi,
I was told by a tax advisor that if I am a tax resident of Cyprus and open an Estonian company I can then register it with local tax authorities in Cyprus and, that way, if I don't receive a salary and only pay myself through dividends, I wouldn't have to pay income tax or social security, all due tax would be corporate tax at a 12,5% rate, is this correct? If it is it sounds like a great idea since Cyprus is in Europe and has great weather. (I'm already an EU citizen sound it would be a simpler solution then moving to South/Central America or Asia).
Also, solutions like Georgia or Bulgaria aren't really attractive to me due to the weather and culture in general.
Would Malta work similarly to Cyprus or is it not a solution?
Thank you in advance!

You should clarify with your tax advisor what "registering with local tax authorities" means because you can't operate in Cyprus with an estonian company without establishing at least a branch.
He says that by registering with tax authorities in Cyprus you pay Cyprus corporate tax instead of Estonian corporate tax due to their double taxation agreement.

You typically do this sort of setup with UK companies, not Estonian companies. With your proposed setup, you need to pay both Estonian tax and Cyprus tax, or you need to at least create dual sets of accounts.

With a UK company instead, you don't need to file anything, as if nothing happens in the UK, then you are "treaty non-resident", a special status in the tax code.

I thought that there still were some annual filings required for all UK Ltd. companies?
What would be the difference between a non-resident UK Ltd. and a UK LLP regarding taxes? If nothing happens in the UK, wouldn’t both be exempt from UK taxes, while also offering limited liability?