Our valued sponsor

Question Revolut alternative recommendation? (Greece self-employed)

chren

Aug 26, 2020
Visit site
Hi, as many of you might know Revolut is transferring to a Bank on Jul 1, 2022.
I have been using it up until now to get paid for my regular job, did not report in my - pretty expensive - jurisdiction (Greece, I am also a resident) so far because it rarely surpasses USD 4k / month, coming from the US, so I thought the amounts are not too large.
I have taken a look at the EMIs list but not sure what is safest in my case, and also I don't know if I am safe with my transactions so far with Revo.. :/ (my accountant says there is a minor risk but not sure if he is really knowledgeable about it).
I have considered making it legal in my home country but I would pay like 40% AND employers don't want to offer me a contract, making things complicated.
Does anyone have a recommendations on a new EMI? or what I should do with current acc?

Reactions: jafo
I would recommend to make it legal for your own piece of mind. Playing hide and seek with taxman is not really a good long term game plan.

Acc to this document DAC2 which "extended the scope of the mandatory automatic exchange of information to information on financial accounts." does not cover "electronic money institutions" as it is the working groups suggestion that it SHOULD do so in the future: "4.2: Under DAC2: Include FIs that are currently excluded within scope, e.g. electronic money institutions. 19"

I mean this is the only reason you havent been caught yet, as its a company registered in the UK and had it been a bank your tax services would have known about it immediately. (Any countries on the bottom of this list have banks that share info automatically with tax services among each other : Automatic Exchange of Information - OECD Automatic Exchange of Information - OECD)