Our valued sponsor

Software services between UK company and Seychelles company

James Blake

Oct 19, 2016
Visit site
Hello everyone, this is my first post!

I am a software engineer based in Europe and I develop software for a -one and only- UK company Ltd.

Initially I was thinking to incorporate in Cyprus or Bulgaria, with 12.5% tax rate and 10%.

But then I thought that other cheaper jurisdictions maybe can work. (Seychelles IBC etc..)
I guess it is possible for a IBC company from Seychelles to issue invoices with a subject like that to a UK company.

I would like to ask:

Is it legal from a UK company to receive an invoice from a Seychelles offshore IBC? Would they accept it?
(So they can deduct these expenses from their income and pay less tax)

I think that most of them, don't prefer it.

Is there any other jurisdiction that is more friendly with UK ltds?

Any guides and helps would be appreciated! ;)

If you have software, it means you have intangible assets. You should get familiar with Royalties. Create a Seychelles company with a nominee directory and shareholder, have your software licenses, trademarks and codes owned by the seychelles company and bill the UK company for the right of selling your software. Do this not too much. You can lower the corporate tax to 10% but no more with UK, otherwise HMRC will find it suspicious.

Nevertheless, the UK wanted to create a black list of tax havens to prevent that. It was just before the Brexit, now they stopped talking about tax havens. I know exactly what they want to do.

If they create a black list, then you can use a Seychelles company to invoice programming by a ghost programmer but then if their is a tax audit, it is risky.